Daily Review: The Cornish Retribution by Amanda James

A suspenseful and gripping psychological thriller, perfect for fans of domestic noir.

After a tragic car accident, Samantha is left widowed and bereft.  Her husband Adam was everything to her. But at least the home they shared together in Cornwall provides her with some security. Or does it?

Upon returning from a school reunion in Sheffield, where Sam met her old friend, Penny, and an old flame from her school days, Dan, she discovers that Adam had invested money unwisely and she is now penniless.

When Penny and Dan, who are now married, arrive in Cornwall to visit Sam, Dan comes up with a way in which Sam can keep the house. He suggests she turns it into a writing retreat. And he is willing to invest.

Despite his wife’s reservations, Dan gets his way but at what price?

Why is Dan so keen to help? Has Sam put herself in harm’s way?

Amanda James is the best-selling author of Another MotherRip Current, and The Calico Cat. The Cornish Retribution is a chilling thriller which will appeal to fans of authors like Cara Hunter, Louise Jensen, and Greer Hendricks.

Amanda James

Amazon Review

By GraceJ@Reviewerlady

Samantha Lane is distraught at the early death of her beloved husband and gleans some comfort from her cliff-top Cornish home. Against her better judgment, she heads to Sheffield for a school reunion and makes contact with her one time best friend Penny and former teen boyfriend Dan, now a married couple. On her return, however, she is faced with the bad news that her finances aren’t as secure as she thought they were, with her husband having made some very unwise investments, putting the security of her adored home in jeopardy.

When Penny and Dan invite themselves into her life, he comes up with a way to allow her to keep her home but earn an income from it – and he is willing to invest in this business venture. But why? And should she depend on him now when the events of the past have shown that he isn’t trustworthy? Penny does her utmost to stop him, but Dan goes ahead with his plans. Why is he so keen?

I warmed to Sam from the very beginning; after a loving marriage abruptly ended she is struggling with unexpected widowhood. Luckily, she has family close by to keep her going. Dan’s investment brings him into Sam’s life again and the suspense is, at times, palpable. With the proposed business launched successfully, things suddenly change. It’s a curious and riveting read and one which shows off the beauty of Cornwall.

This author always writes well; her novels are skilfully crafted and easy to read and this is no exception, with clever plotting and a few twists along the way. I really had no idea where it was heading but, boy, this has some ending and it’s so worth waiting for!

Amazon Review

By Judithhb

We meet Sam Lane whose husband Adam, has been killed in a road accident six months ago. Adam had apparently been traveling too fast around a bend when he encountered a herd of cows.

Sam is a published author who hasn’t been able to concentrate on her writing since Adam’s death.

Her daughter, Helena with husband and small child live close, while her son Jack, is studying at university.

After the death of her husband, Sam sunk into despair but is gradually pulling herself out of it. She learns of a school reunion and on prompting from her daughter she decides to go. Here she meets up with Dan and Penny – Penny was her best friend through school, that is until she had sex with Dan who just happened to be Sam’s boyfriend at the time.

On her return to Cornwall, she has a visit from Robert, her husband’s friend and accountant, who tells her there is no money for left for her. Adam had made several foolish decisions and invested their money in plans that came to nothing but used up all their money.

When Dan and Penny come to visit they learn of her changed circumstances and Dan comes up with a solution – she can keep her lovely house and he will purchase twenty-five percent and they can run a writer’s retreat together.

Penny is against this idea fearing that Dan and Sam may get together again over this deal.

Eventually, Sam acknowledges her attraction to Dan, and against her children’s wishes, she agrees to marry him.

But all is not well in this beautiful part of the country. This fairy tale has a black side to it. The story unfolds with a suicide(?) and a near-fatal accident, both of which are linked to Dan.

The story is well planned and developed, and totally believable. A recently widowed, fragile woman, a man determined to get his own way at any cost, a wife who is totally controlled by her husband, two adult children who are concerned for their mother and where does this gathering of people end?

Ms. James has written a story of trust, broken trust, whom to trust and who not to trust. I encourage you to read this book.

Please click HERE to find The Cornish Retribution on Amazon.

, , , , , , , , , ,

Related Posts