Five of the 100 Indie Books You Should Read Before You Die

Great works of literature are being produced by wonderful independent authors who are breaking the mold in the literary world of fiction.

Too many literary sources completely omit or overlook Indie Books when compiling their lists of the 100 books you should read before you die. They showcase the legends, the classics.

Yet, we are fortunate to have a lot of outstanding books by outstanding indie authors in today’s literary marketplace. We are continuing our series featuring great indie books you should definitely read in your lifetime, knowing that the list will always change with the passing years and with the release of new books.

Here, in no particular order, are the five books we are featuring today.

Army of Worn Soles

By Scott Bury

A Canadian is drafted into the Soviet Red Army during World War 2, just in time to be thrown against Nazi Germany’s invasion in Operation Barbarossa.

Caught in the vise of the Nazi and Communist forces, Maurice Bury concentrates on keeping his men alive as they retreat across Ukraine from the German juggernaut.

Now the question is: will they escape from the hell of the POW camp before they starve to death?

Dancing with Air

By Uvi Poznansky

Fooling Nazi espionage may cost Lenny the trust of the girl who captured his heart. Will Natasha discover his secret reports, disguised as love letters to another woman?

In these letters, Lenny gives the enemy misleading information about allied plans for D-Day. Once Natasha arrives in London, he takes her for a ride on his Harley throughout England, from the White Cliffs of Dover to a village near an underground ammunition depot in Staffordshire.

When he is wounded in a horrific explosion, she brings him back to safety, only to discover the other woman’s letter to him. Will love survive the test of war?

In the past Natasha wrote, with girlish infatuation, “He will be running his fingers down, all the way down to the small of my back, touching his lips to my ear, breathing his name, breathing mine. Here I am, dancing with air.”

In years to come, she will begin to lose her memory, which will make Lenny see her as fragile. “I gather her gently into my arms, holding her like a breath.” But right now, she is at her peak. She is ready to take charge of the course of their story.

Circle of Hurt

By Jim Ainsworth

They gather around a big table in the back of Prigmore’s General Store and Café in downtown Riverby several times a week most weeks. There are six of them, five men and one woman. There may have been more or less in the past. There are no programs or speakers. Those outside The Circle wonder what they talk about, but they don’t ask. The only requirement for membership is to have been deeply hurt or to have caused serious hurt to others.

Tee Jessup is not a member of The Circle, but he qualifies. He spends a lot of time on the porch of a dilapidated farmhouse on a hill, feeling sorry for himself over the loss of his parents, his brother and his wife. He dreams of taking revenge on the man responsible for his wife’s death, but he can’t take the vengeance he craves because he has a young son.

Just down the hill from Tee’s home sits a long-abandoned shack. Decades earlier, it was used as a shelter for itinerant cotton pickers during harvest season. Clayton Dupree stayed in the picker shack when he was a boy. Now he has secretly returned to write his songs, paint his pictures, play his guitar, record everything that happens around him, and nurse a bullet wound.

Deadly Chocolate Addiction

By Sally Berneathy

A chocoholic comes to Death by Chocolate, eats Lindsay’s desserts and intimidates her ex, Rickhead. The mysterious man is her new best friend. She gives him a complimentary box of desserts.

After he’s gone, she finds a small brass key under his plate. Surely he’ll return for more chocolate and the key. But he’s murdered, and the Death by Chocolate box leads police to Lindsay.

Is his death connected to the blonde in four-inch heels who demands to talk to Lindsay about her relationship with the woman’s husband?

Who is her husband? Fred? For all Lindsay knows, he could be married, could be a bigamist or even a trigamist. He is an over-achiever.

Lindsay’s life is spinning out of control with lots of questions and no answers.

Is the key a clue to the murder? What does it hide that makes it important enough for someone to kill Lindsay to get it?

Blood Land

By R. S. Guthrie

Crime’s an ugly constant in the big cities. L.A. Chicago. New York. But when a savage murder brutalizes a small town and neighbor turns on neighbor, a tough-as-nails cop is essential to restoring order.

Blood Land is a gritty, emotional saga set in the contemporary Wyoming badlands with both greed and vengeance at its core.

When billions of dollars in 21st-century natural gas rights hang in the balance, and the town’s top law officer’s wife is slain by her own brother, a reluctant hero is forced to battle his own demons and ultimately choose between justice, revenge, and duty.

An award-winning, page-turner, in the tradition of Dennis Lehane, Tony Hillerman and James Lee Burke, Guthrie’s sparse, haunting storytelling compliments his talent for creating richly-drawn, unflinching law officers with human frailties, a code of honor, and a profound sense of justice.

Previous Books Selected: Sleeping Tigers by Holly Robinson, Wings of Mayhem by Sue Coletta, Blood Orchids by Toby Neal, and The Girl Who Watched Over Dreams by Jeff Russell.

, , , , , , , , , , , ,

  • Uvi Poznansky

    Thank you so much Caleb and Linda for selecting Dancing with Air! Very much appreciated.
    Uvi Poznansky

  • Keep them coming!

Related Posts